Biden’s Facebook comments sexist, presumtuous or spot-on?

I found this headline on Foxnews.com this morning:  AR-15-owning woman who got Biden’s shotgun advice says idea sounded a ‘little  sexist’

Evidently, “Biden made the recommendation during a Facebook chat on Tuesday, saying he has  advised wife Jill to stand on the deck of their rustic home and fire the  family’s double-barreled shotgun in the air, should she sense an intruder.”  The woman to whom he said this told Fox News that, “it was poor advice, and came off as a little sexist.”

I don’t know, sexist?  I’m the first to jump to the Second Amendment’s defense, but a man counseling his wife on how she might, in his absence, protect herself and their family…I just can’t see that as sexist.  That just seems like family business.

Why do I bring this up?  Because, if we are to have a meaningful argument about guns, then I think we must be very careful about using inflammatory statements, and “sexist” is a doozy.  Using it where it doesn’t belong adds nothing meaningful with regard to strengthening the argument.  Somehow it reminds me of the little boy who cried wolf.

But then Biden goes on to say, “You don’t need an AR-15 — it’s harder to aim, it’s harder to use. You don’t  need 30 rounds to protect yourself. Buy a shotgun.”  I think that’s a bit presumtuous.  Granted, it’s his opinion and we’re all entitled to one.  But I’d argue that, when you’re the Vice President of the United States, you need to guard your tongue a little more closely.  We all know where he stands on the gun control issue, so I’m not sure it’s wise for him to run around telling everyone which guns should be used for what purpose.

But that’s just my opinion.  What do you think?

 

Leave a Reply

