Newtown, CT Shootings – Making sense of the senseless

I can’t. No one can.

I watch my little ones, so grateful for the breath moving within them.  Their small ways and pure smiles bind up my insides and I stifle my anguish, my disbelief.  I know I share these feelings with everyone who bears a soul.  Except for the families of the lost.  I can’t imagine their grief, the vast absence…that anything but time and iron-clad faith may slow-ease their pain.

I can’t imagine.

For the rest of us – as my husband told me Friday during my futile search for understanding – all we can do is be horrified, pray and help each other in any way we can.  He threw me a rope as I began to sink, immersed in (often innaccurate) news reports and reading social media rants.

So many people have so much to say.  I get it.  People need an anchor, a logical argument that shuts down the possibility of a repeat occurrence.  If we do X, then Y will never happen again.

More guns. No guns.

A hind-sighted demand for prescience. How did no one know? No one foresee? No one stop?

Arm the teachers.

Homeschool.

He was ill, he needed our help, our grace. No, he was a monster.

There is no sense.  There is no answer.  But amid the world-wide emotional fallout, these four things resonated with me.  These words come from those much wiser than me.  I offer them to you, if you should need them.

–  Ann Voskamp offers words of comfort as only she can, in Where is God in the darkness of this weekend?

–  A reminder from Buzzfeed that there is still so much good in the world.

–  “What can you do to promote world peace?  Go home and love your family.”  –  Mother Teresa

–  “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”  –  Jesus Christ

Leave a Reply

